The Kashmir

November 16, 2006

Clemency for Afzal Guru – I am not Concerned


By Kamal Hak 

“Afzal Guru will not be hanged,” a friend informs me while my driver is trying to maneuver through the heavy evening traffic near the ITO crossing. This place otherwise, holds a special place in my heart as it was a nearby unknown and unfamiliar lane where I found myself pausing for breath after running away from the baton wielding constables of Delhi police immediately after our exodus in 1990. Our fault, holding an anti- Pakistan rally. I find myself in a state of confusion and unable to prioritize my concerns about negotiating the chaotic traffic and politics of appeasement behind ‘Pardon Afzal’ campaign. I quickly decide Afzal is not my immediate concern. In fact I dismiss Afzal as not worthy of my thoughts and tell myself his hanging or commutation of his sentence will make no difference to me. Some time latter, we pass by majestic Akshardham temple which is fast becoming an important landmark in the national capital. And like every time I pass by that road, I give it a long look and appreciate its grandeur. Suddenly I remember the terrorist attack on similar temple in Ahmedabad a few years back and feel a strange twist in my guts……………..

To read the complete article click HERE

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

